First EuroTour 2016 standings update

Last weekend, the traditional season opener, the Dutch Open 2016, took place.
EuroTour 2015 winners Seppo Paju, FI (MPO) and Nathale Holloköi, CH (FPO) obviously were present, and we were all anxious to see if they could continue their winning ways.

Seppo was in the lead all throughout tournament, and never let go, with fellow Finns Pasi Koivu and Juho Parviainen completing the podium.
In the FPO division, an upset took place, with both Natalie and top 4 overall finisher Hannele Määttä finishing outside the top 3. Finnish 16 year-old prodigy Henna Blomroos took the win, and German ladies Wiebke Becker and Antonia Faber taking home 2nd and 3rd places.
The strongest Netherlands player, Bert, kept the Masters title on Dutch soil, edging out Finns Ari Penttala and Kais Vesa.
The Grandmasters title went to Germany. This time, not to Wolfgang Kraus (overall winner 2015), but to George Braun. George came out on top, just. There was a 3-way tie for 2nd, shared by Derek Robins (UK), Rene Westenberg (NL), and Jean-Louis Tanghe (BE).
In his last year as MJ1 player, Belgian Guillaume Tanghe won the Junior Boys division, staying well clear of fellow countryman Maxime Dupret, and the Swedish Filip Wallbäcks.

For the full standings, please check out: EuroTour Standings 2016

Leave a Reply